Transportation forum

Forum to explore transportation in future

By ELAINE TALARSKI                

Will greater San Antonio be ready to meet the transportation needs of a population expected to double within 25 years? What needs to be done to get it ready? The LWV of the San Antonio Area will present a forum Oct. 9 that addresses these questions. Keynote speaker is Mayor Ron Nirenberg, who will take questions from the audience after his address. A panel of experts will also take questions. All questions must be written on cards that will be handed out before the forum begins.



Mayor Ron Nirenberg
BA and MA in Communication

Before being elected mayor in May, Nirenberg represented District 8 on the San Antonio City Council from 2013 to 2017. During that time, he was appointed to committees for county, regional and national boards.

Among his local appointments, he served on the Transportation, Technologies and Utilities; Economic and Community Development; and Infrastructure and Growth committees. He was also the Comprehensive Planning Chair and SA Tomorrow Tri-Chair.

Regionally, he was appointed to the executive committees of the boards of the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG), AACOG Air Improvement Resources, Metropolitan Planning Organization and the San Antonio Mobility Coalition.

Nationally he was appointed to the boards of the National League of Cities and Sister Cities International.

Before serving in elected office he was a program director for the Annenberg Public Policy Center and directed award-winning civic engagement programs.


Francine Romero
BA, MA, Ph.D. in Political Science
Associate Dean, UTSA College of
Public Policy
Associate Professor, Department of Public Administration

Romero currently represents San Antonio City Council District 8 on the Zoning Commission and as chair of the City San Antonio Conservation Advisory Board. She is also on the board of the Hill Country Alliance.

She previously served on the City of San Antonio Planning Commission, the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, the Charter Review Committee and several bond recommendation and oversight committees. She is the author of two books and numerous articles, and she has moderated many panels for a variety of organizations.


Kevin Wolff
BA and MA in Business Administration
Bexar County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Wolff was a representative of San Antonio City Council District 9 from 2005 to 2008. As a member of the City Council he served on the Military Affairs Committee and led the council in initiatives to improve infrastructure.

As a county commissioner, he serves on the AACOG board of directors and is chair of the Metropolitan Planning Organization.

He also serves on the boards for the Texas Association of Regional Councils, Texas Conference of Urban Counties, Bexar County Housing Finance Corporation and the Bexar County Health Facilities Development Corporation.

Previous experience includes a decade of service in the U.S. Navy and 20 years with private and Fortune 500 companies. Also, he is a past chair and vice chair of the AACOG board and former chair of the city Military Affairs Committee.


Transportation Flyer jpg (1)

Ana Sandoval
BS in Chemical Engineering, MS in Civil and Environmental Engineering, MS in Public Health Dipomado in binational business while a Fulbright Scholar
San Antonio City Council District 7 Representative

Sandoval, elected to the City Council in May, is chair of the city council’s Community Health and Equity Committee and serves on the board of the Metropolitan Planning Organization. She is also director of the Air and Health Collaborative of San Antonio.

Before moving to the San Francisco Bay Area to work for the Bay Area Air Quality Management District for a number of years, she worked for VIA Metropolitan Transit in long range planning. She also did research on public health issues at the Harvard School of Public Health and UT School of Public Health San Antonio.

Bill Barker BS in Physics, MA in Urban Affairs, ICP Certification

Barker is an adjunct associate professor at UTSA Graduate School of Urban and Regional Planning. He also serves on the board of Imagine San Antonio, a public policy institute for research, education and implementation; the Hill Country Alliance advisory board; and VIA’s Long Range Citizens Advisory Council.

Previous experience includes serving as Special Projects Manager for the City of San Antonio, the director of Solar San Antonio and the director of Planning for VIA Metropolitan Transit.

He was also a vice president at McDonald Transit Associates, a director of transportation at North Central Texas Council of Governments and a general engineer at the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Jeffrey Arndt
BS in Civil Engineering and MA in Public Administration
President/CEO, VIA

Arndt is currently President and Chief Executive Officer of VIA Metropolitan Transit. He serves on several boards, including the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Texas Diversity Council, United Way and the Texas Transit Association. He also serves on the Bus Safety Committee for the American Public Transportation Association.

Previous experience includes working in Houston for 25 years at the Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County, achieving the rank of senior vice president of operations/chief operating officer.

He also spent five years as a research scientist/research specialist at the Texas A&M Transportation Institute and held positions at Parsons Brinkerhoff and First Transit.