Skip to main content
League of Women Voters of the San Antonio Area

News / Articles

League Held 2023-2024 Annual Meeting

Rebecca Rabel | Published on 8/21/2023

The 2023-24 Annual Meeting for the League of Women Voters of the San Antonio Area was held on Saturday, May 20th. All members were invited and encouraged to attend.

During the event the board approved the annual budget, the bylaws, and the nominating slate. The board welcomed two new members for the 2023-2024 fiscal year, Katie Brown and Rebecca Rabel.

The Chair recognized Glenda Wolin and presented her with a proclamation from the Commissioners Court of Bexar County for her work on the voter guide for the past six years, Vote411 guide and voter services programs.

The event featured guest speaker Stephanie Swanson, Board Member, League of Women Voters of Texas and Issue Chair for Voting Rights and Election Laws. Stephanie follows the good, bad and the ugly of the bills related with Voting Rights and Election Laws for the current legislative session and updated members on the state of that legislation as the session drew to a close. Her remarks were followed by Q & A and the event wrapped up with member networking.

The League extends special thanks to CPS Energy and Yvonne Palayo for hosting the event at the downtown headquarters.

CPS Energy moved into its new headquarters in October 2020. The headquarter buildings are designed to reduce light pollution, energy use and building product emissions. The landscape design includes drought tolerant vegetation, efficient irrigation and two rain harvesting cisterns. The building is both LEED Gold certified (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) and also Build San Antonio Green certified.

Click Here to See LWVSA's Leadership

League of Women Voters of the San Antonio Area

PO Box 12811

San Antonio, TX 78212
(210) 657-2206